Science Fair: Resources

These databases consist of mostly news articles published by reporters and some scholarly articles.  *Access the passwords for these databases here.

• Gale Science* 
• Science News
• Gale Environmental Studies* 
• Gale Health & Wellness* 
• Gale Ebooks* 
• Britannica School* 
• World Book*

These resources should be used in addition to the general and scholarly databases listed above. *Access the passwords for these databases here.

• EBSCO Environment Complete*
• GeoScienceWorld: A geoscience database. We don't have full access, but you can still search and read abstracts. Contact Ms. Kruckenberg if there is an article you want to read from here. 
• EarthArXiv: A preprint server for geoscience.
• ESSOAr: A community server established to accelerate the open discovery and dissemination of Earth and space science early research outputs, including preprints and posters presented at major scientific meetings.
• Ideas from various geosystems websites
  • American Geosciences Institute
  • Earth and Science Projects

• American Physical Society Journals - Various physics journals. Available for on-campus access.
• arXiv.org: Open-access archive for scholarly articles in various fields, including physics

These databases contain peer-reviewed articles published by researchers. Check out this Anatomy of a Scholarly Article to understand what a scholarly journal article looks like.  *Access the passwords for these databases here.

• Gale Academic OneFile*
• Gale Science^
• Gale Environmental Studies* 
• EBSCO Ebook Academic Collection*
• ProQuest*
• Google Scholar: Articles not available may be accessible through another database/repository.
• DOAJ: Articles from open access journals.
• ​PubMed Central: Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine 

^Limit your results to only academic journals

These resources should be used in addition to the general and scholarly databases listed above. 

• Chemistry LibreTexts: Open-access chemistry textbooks
• ChemSpider: Chemical structures and associated property information
• NIST Chemistry WebBook: Chemical, physical and thermodynamic properties of chemical compounds. Use this guide to navigate this database.
• ACS Central Science: Primary reports on research in chemistry and in allied fields, wherein chemical approaches play a key role. It is also the first fully open access journal published by the American Chemical Society