Chemistry: Home

• Science News
• Science Buddies
• Chemistry LibreTexts
• Britannica School
• World Book
• Gale in Context: Science 

• Google Scholar: Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, and abstracts, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites
• ACS Central Science: Primary reports on research in chemistry and in allied fields, wherein chemical approaches play a key role. It is also the first fully open access journal published by the American Chemical Society
• PubMed Central: Free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine 
• Public Library of Science Chemistry (PLOS ONE)
• Library Databases 
  • Gale in Context: Science 
  • Gale Academic OneFile 
  • EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate 
  • EBSCO Ebook Academic Collection 

• ChemSpider: Chemical structures and associated property information
• NIST Chemistry WebBook: Chemical, physical and thermodynamic properties of chemical compounds. Use this guide to navigate this database. 
• PubChem: Chemical properties and biological activities of small molecules
• AIST Spectral Database: Electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. Use this guide to navigate this database. 

Database Passwords

If there is an article you cannot access, please email Ms. Gunther or Ms. Ji with the article title and the link.

Citing Sources

Every FCPS student has access to NoodleTools, a citation management tool.  It offers an effective way for students to organize their research and create bibliographies. Here are three simple steps to using NoodleTools:

1. Create a project
2. Add citations to the project by importing them from databases or creating them manually
3. Use the "printing" feature to publish bibliographies.